Common, if not normal.

First of all, thank you to all who told me to put down the Google.  I know that no good can come from sitting awake at 4am, reading internet forums from 2007.  I know.  All I learned from last night’s trip down that particular rabbit hole is that I may, in fact, be a more neurotic person than I had previously realized.  At least when it comes to the current state of my uterus.

Having sat up for the remainder of the night, slipping back into bed only ten minutes before the alarm went off, I was awake and ready to call Clinic One as soon as it opened.  The bleeding had stopped, it had never become more than spotting, but I was still desperately in need of some professional reassurance.  Now well practiced, I navigated the 87 subdirectories of their automated phone system with ease and left a message for the nurses.  A nurse called back almost instantly.  She was the same nurse, I believe, who had asked me if I felt foolish/fluish during my last cycle.  Her voice was reassuring as I mumbled about red blood, toilet paper and progesterone suppositories.  As soon as I paused for breath she interjected, “I can’t say it’s normal… but it is very common.”  She explained that I should monitor for more bleeding, but shouldn’t come in unless the bleeding became much heavier or more continuous.  Which, thankfully, it didn’t.

I did have a bit more spotting this evening, but it was even less than before and has stopped again.  In the warm light of my house at this reasonable hour, I’m less afraid.  I’m going to try my very best to stay calm and rational.  I may try to block Google on my computer.  And, if I wake up at 3am to pee, I’ll leave the lights off.

17 thoughts on “Common, if not normal.

  1. If you can actually do those things — step away from the google, leave the light off — you are made of sterner stuff than I. For the record, I spotted or bled every day for a month. And everything was okay.

    • I cannot do these things– the last 24+ hours have proved it. Thank you for the reassurance, though. I’m not going to lie: I definitely just creeped your blog archives for the bleeding posts, and it made me feel better.

  2. I consider myself to be a very relaxed person, but I was absolutely neurotic about everything I felt during my pregnancy. I Googled something nearly every day, regrettably. So, you’re not alone!

    So glad to hear it’s subsided. I am sure you and baby(ies) are fine.

  3. I am so glad you are feeling a little better, and it’s just stayed at spotting. I personally know of an acquaintance who had bleeding all throughout her first trimester, and everything has turned out normally. So, for every bad story there is a good story. I think yours will be a good story :) Hang in there!

  4. I should be on my TWW in a week or so. We will be inseminating next week… I am bracing myself for what could be the longest two weeks of my life. I send you lots of baby dust! Thank you for sharing your story. Hugs!

  5. Stay away from Google!!!! This said from someone who is addicted to pregnancy forums!!
    Spotting is normal, from what I’ve read and what I’ve heard from the nurses at my clinic. But you should always check in to make sure. So glad we are on this journey “almost” in synch with each other!

  6. Hang in there! And do your best to stay away from Google. I think I mentioned this on your last post, but I had a fair amount of spotting early in my pregnancy. It was terrifying. But the product of that pregnancy is currently sleeeping happily upstairs.

  7. I’m a bit late to the party, but congratulations!

    And I support your efforts to steer clear of Dr. Google. I usually do. I have an unfortunately vivid imagination sometimes, and anytime I read about the symptoms of *anything*, I immediately have it. (Even if it’s like an enlarged prostate or something. It’s a little ridiculous.)

    I’m maybe not the most reassuring person to hear this from, given my history, but spotting really is common. And a lot of the time it turns out fine. At this point, pretty much all you can do is roll with it, and try not to stress out too much. (I know. Believe me, I know.) Hopefully the spotting will clear up soon, and everything will be fine.

Leave a Reply

