Tomorrow, tomorrow, it’s only a day away.

That’s right, it looks like tomorrow is IUI day.

I arrived home from work to find a voicemail message from Nurse Brittany.  No, really.  This is the first non-pseudonym I’ve used in this blog.  It’s just too good not to share.  “Hi, this is Nurse Brittany calling on behalf of Dr. Text!”

According to Nurse Brittany, speaking on behalf of Dr. Text, my LH levels are rising.  Because this is my first cycle, they don’t know how high it goes.  Because of this, they’re not exactly sure when it will peak and when I’ll ovulate.  But it will either be tomorrow or “very, very soon”.  I’m supposed to go to Clinic One bright and early in the morning.  They’ll do my ultrasound and bloodwork, immediately processing the results.  Then they’ll either tell me to come back tomorrow or stick around.

Internet friends, some of you have done IUIs– help me out:

-What is the procedure like?

-Do you rest at the clinic afterwards?

-Did you do anything differently in the day(s) following?

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow, tomorrow, it’s only a day away.

  1. It takes all of 4 minutes. Once they’ve decided that you are nearing ovulation they’ll call you in, lay you down and insert the catheter. It happens quickly and has a little bit of pressure, like light cramps. They’ll probably tell you 5-10 minutes of rest and then they send you home. No residual feelings afterward – at least not for me. I used a clinic for a few cycles that actually had a tv monitor where I could watch the insemination. This was most uncomfortable as they had to insert the wand with camera AND the catheter. That’s a bit much for me. lol. I had some of the discharge from the lubricant. Regular, non wand IUIs had no discharge or issues.

    GOOD LUCK!

  2. EXCITING!

    I tried to rest as much as possible in the few days prior to IUI, though I know it’s not necessary. It just made me feel more prepared. As Loveshackbaby said, the procedure is really quick. It totally depends on the person, but I had various insems with two separate nurses, and with one nurse, I hardly felt anything, with the other, it was quite painful. Not to freak you out, but just so you’re prepared. You can definitely feel the instrument inside of you. With painful nurse, I did have some spotting afterwards for about 12 hours. With non-painful nurse, nothing.

    We always stayed at the clinic as long as we were welcome and that was always a great decision. You don’t need to stay for longer than 5-10 minutes, but we figured it was the potential conception of our child and considering how clinical the whole process was, we felt it important to try to make that moment special. We would snuggle and laugh and just be warm and fuzzy together. I really did feel that part was important.

    I also found acupuncture helpful both pre and post IUIs. There is some research to suggest that it does help with the procedures (though mostly with IVF).

    Good luck tomorrow and let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

