Liebster

I was nominated for a Liebster Blog Award by the lovely folks over at The Falco Project.  I’m told that the Liebster Blog Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. “Liebster” is German for “favorite.”

Here are the rules of the award:

  • Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  • Answer the 11 questions the tagger has set for you.
  • Create 11 questions for the people you’ve tagged to answer.
  • Choose 11 people and link them in your post.
  • Go to their page and tell them.
  • Remember no tag backs!

What a great way to mark the halfway* point of my TWW!

*Slightly more than halfway?  IUI was last Thursday, but pregnancy test is scheduled for next Wednesday.  Really it’s the thirteen day wait.

Eleven Facts:

  1. Sea and I met and started “dating” (read: making out) when we were teenagers.  This means we’ve been together for over a decade.
  2. Sea is just over two weeks older than me.  I never let her forget it.
  3. I have lived in three cities in two countries.  Sea has lived in four cities and two countries.  Obviously we live in the same city and country now, but that’s the only point of overlap.
  4. I used to be a drag king
  5. I have been a vegetarian since I saw Jurassic Park at the age of 12.  Sea isn’t a vegetarian, but eats vegetarian food about 90% of the time.
  6. I have had a series of weird pets, including hedgehogs, frogs, ferrets, cats and dogs.
  7. I am not allergic to anything.  Sea is allergic to everything.
  8. Both Sea and I like really strong cheese.
  9. My socks almost always have holes in them.
  10. I get my hair cut at least once a month, but it still always looks shaggy and unkempt.
  11. I read very, very quickly and write incredibly slowly.

Eleven Responses

What’s one thing about your significant other that drives you absolutely bonkers?

Sea is incredibly responsible, organized and punctual.  I am the opposite.  Her desire to have everything labelled, color-coded, scheduled and filed drives me up the wall.  I rebel by leaving my shoes in the middle of the room and filling our closets with forgotten plastic bags and crumpled paper.

What is your biggest vice?

See above.  I’m a mess: literally.

Do you consider any subject matter “off-limits” on your blog?

At least for the time being, I’m trying to keep our identities and location anonymous.  This is so that nothing else becomes “off-limits”: I don’t want to worry about who reads it.

What inspired you to start writing your blog? What motivates you to continue?

Reading other blogs motivated me originally.  Also, I realized really quickly that the world of reproductive technology was full of funny and infuriating moments.  I didn’t (and don’t) want to talk with my friends about this process, but I had to share the stories somewhere!   I like sharing stories and seeing how people respond, and I love connecting with other people going through similar processes and experiences around the world.

If you knew you’d succeed and could have a “do over,” what profession might you pursue instead of what you’re currently doing?

I wish I had become a lawyer.  If I ever find myself with time and money, I’ll go to law school.  However, I don’t think that having a kid gives you more time or money, so there you go.
What is your absolute favorite moment of the day?

My favourite moment of the day is when I’m travelling home from work and the sun is setting.  Everything looks prettier and feels calmer in that light.

Do you have any allergies? What are they?

None.  Though maybe if I claim to be allergic to spinach, Sea will stop trying to feed it to me?

If you had one million dollars to donate to a cause or organization, which would you pick and why?

I work and volunteer with a couple of amazing organizations, and see on a daily basis how much they do with so little and how much more they could do. In general, they focus on supporting queer and trans youth communities.  Unfortunately I can’t tell you what those organizations are because it would blow my cover, but just trust me that they’re great.

What is your least favorite chore?

Scooping the litter.  Gross.

Do you have any recurring dreams or nightmares? What are they?

I dream a lot about travelling by bus or train, though the content varies a lot beyond that.  Incidentally, I dreamt the other night about having an IUI done!

What major lesson have you learned in 2012?

The year isn’t done yet!  So far I think I’ve learned/seen both how much things can shift in a short amount of time, and also how little is in my control.

Not Eleven Blogs

I’m 99% sure that every blog I read has been nominated at least twice!  Some blogs that I haven’t seen mentioned are below, but my Liebster nominations go to everybody reading this.  Really.  Please answer my questions!

Gayby Journey: We’re in different timezones, but at similar stages in our TTC adventures.

Solo Mama: A single lesbian mom-to-be who blogs prolifically about interesting things.

Making Baby: Two Singaporeans living in the UK, trying to make a baby in Denmark.

Pajama Mommas: A queer mom to an adorable toddler, trying to have another kid with her partner Roo.

Existere: Mom to adorable twins, shares fantastic stories.

Pepibebe: Shamefully not included on the original list!  Trying to conceive using a really holistic approach.

Eleven Questions

What is one quirky thing about you?

What has been the hardest part of trying to build your family?

What is your biggest vice?

What is your biggest pet peeve?

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

Do you have any pets?  If so, what are they?

What is your favourite book?  Why?

Why did you start blogging?

If you had to change your name, what would you want it to be?  Why?

How did you choose the title of your blog?  If you have aliases on your blog, how did you choose them?

Which of your traits would you like your kid to have?  Are there any of your traits that you really wouldn’t want them to have? (This is regardless of biological relationship or plausibility.)

This entry was posted in me and sea and tagged by Beginning from the Start. Bookmark the permalink.

About Beginning from the Start

This blog began when my partner and I decided to start adding the requisite 2.5 kids to our lives. Three years later, we’re now the parents of a very active toddler and (maybe) considering adding another kid to the mix. Read on for adventures in TTC, pregnancy, toddlers, queer parenting and more.

5 thoughts on “Liebster

  1. Hey, thanks you! 🙂 I never get nominated for anything so you made my day! I’ll work on the post over the next day and let you know when it’s up!

    How are you feeling during this 2ww? I keep thinking to ask you and then I don’t want to b/c well…the 2ww sucks enough without people asking how you’re feeling. I know the 2nd half is the worst. Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

