Iron woman.

Returned from my travels to find a message from Diet Coke, the midwife: “Hi, just calling to let you know that the results of your glucose text were awesome.”  Take that, risk factors and doubters!  (I’m looking at Sea, who has frequently raised a judgmental eyebrow at my chocolate consumption over the past six months.)

Of course, a greeting like that is bound to come with a “but…”.  In this case, the but involved words like “hemoglobin”, “anemia”, “supplementation” and ended with Diet Coke cheerily saying, “I look forward to chatting with you about iron rich foods!”

I’m currently waiting for Herbal Tea to return my call (Diet Coke is on vacation) and tell me what this unyielding vegetarian should do to improve her iron levels.  I also welcome your expert opinions (bonus points if they involve chocolate).  I’ll work on becoming better acquainted with spinach while I wait.

8 thoughts on “Iron woman.

  1. I was badly anemic after losing a lot of blood giving birth (and it sucked an enormous amount, so I definitely encourage you to do what you can to get your numbers up), and what I remember on the vegetarian side was dried apricots. I heard conflicting things about molasses, but it was delicious stirred into milk, so I drank it.

  2. PB developed restless leg syndrome while pregnant with Critter, and our OB said she’d read a recent study about increasing iron levels as a treatment for that. So she recommended something called “Blood Builder” as a supplement. That cleared the restless leg thing right up for PB, so I’m guessing it helped with her iron levels. The Blood Builder is also vegetarian, I’m reasonably sure. If you’re interested, I can go dig out the bottle and find out who makes it. I also took it for a while after the miscarriage, to make up for the lost blood, and never had any problems with it.

  3. Second the point on making sure you can absorb the iron. Non-heme iron (the kind found in plants etc) is harder to absorb so you need to help it out with Vitamin C. Stay away from eggs, walnuts, coffee, tea, dairy while you are eating your dark green leafies/lentils. And run, don’t walk, to your local health food store and get some Floradix!

Leave a Reply

